Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.


The Australian Computer Society is governed by a national Management Committee.  This committee is assisted by a National Congress, eight State and Territory Branch Executive Committees, and three expert advisory boards - the Member Advisory Board, the Profession Advisory Board, and the Technical Advisory Board.

All three Boards provide strategy advice within their areas of expertise to Management Committee via their Vice Presidents.

One of the key strengths of the ACS is the collective knowledge and skills of its members, and the expert advisory boards are the framework for optimising this expertise.

The ACS Management Committee controls and manages the Society, within the bounds set by the Associations Incorporations Act (ACT) and the Society’s Objects, Rules and National Regulations.

The Management Committee consists of the National Office Bearers (President, three Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, National Treasurer) as well as the Chief Executive Officer and four National Congressional Representatives.               



  • Professor Caroline Chan


    Professor Caroline Chan is the Head of RMIT School of Business IT and Logistics and is a full professor of Information Systems. In recognition of her innovative teaching approaches, Professor Chan received National Carrick Australian Citation Award for outstanding contributions to student learning in 2006. Caroline is currently the president of Australian Council Australian Council of Professors and Heads of Information Systems (ACPHIS), the peak body established to represent Australian Information Systems academics in matters of national and international importance. She is also currently the chair of the ACS Accreditation Committee.

  • Dr Craig McDonald


    ACS Roles include: * ACS Accreditation work: accreditation panel chair; accreditation committee (particularly interested in improving accreditation process and outcomes); workshop for universities seeking accreditation. *ACS Ethics committee (redeveloped the code of ethics). *Canberra BEC, 2000 - 2004 (esp. setting up Toastmasters). * ACS Research projects on the ICT workforce.

  • Dr Paul Strooper


    Paul Strooper is an Emeritus Professor in the School of ITEE at The University of Queensland. He was an academic at UQ from 1993-2016 and served as Head of School from 2010-2016. He received the BMath and MMath degrees in Computer Science from the University of Waterloo, and the PhD degree in Computer Science in 1990 from the University of Victoria. His main research interest is Software Engineering, especially software verification and testing, and model-based approaches to software development and verification. He has had substantial interaction with industry through collaborative research projects, training and consultation. He was chair and member of the Steering Committee for the Asia-Pacific Software Engineering Conference, and chair and member of the Steering Committee for the Australian Software Engineering Conference. He is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Software Testing, Verification and Reliability and was a member of the editorial board of IEEE Transaction of Software Engineering from 2008-2013. From 2015-2017, he was a member of the ARC College of Experts in Engineering, Mathematics, and Informatics. He has been a panel member and chair of numerous accreditation panels for the Australian Computer Society and Engineers Australia.

  • Dr Marta Indulska


    Marta Indulska is a Professor and Leader of the Business Information Systems discipline at the UQ Business School, The University of Queensland, Australia. She teaches on topics related to the use and management of Information Systems and Information Technology in business, specifically with a focus on increasing operational efficiency and effectiveness. In 2017, she was a recipient of the UQ Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. Marta has a background in Computer Science, having obtained her Computer Science doctorate degree in 2004. Her main research interests include conceptual modelling, business process management and open innovation. She has published over 100 fully refereed articles in internationally recognised journals and conferences, and has contributed several chapters to published books. Her research has been funded through several competitive grants, including ARC Discovery. Marta has also worked with organisations in the retail, consulting and non-profit sectors to provide guidance on a variety Information Technology topics. Marta is currently the President of the Australian Association for Information Systems.