Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.
  • icon-facebook
  • icon-linkedin
  • icon-twitter

International Federation of Information Processing (IFIP) Representatives

  • Mrs Sharon Singh

    Technical Committee 3: Education

    Sharon is the Head of eLearning and Innovation at St Johns Anglican College, Brisbane, Australia. Born in Fiji, she completed her undergraduate and postgraduate studies in Information Systems, Science, Mathematics, and Education at the University of the South Pacific, where she received a gold medal in Education. Sharon has lived/worked in Fiji, Hong Kong, New Zealand, and South Korea. She is an experienced international educator, coordinating numerous projects focusing on computer science, digital pedagogy, educational technologies and innovation, learning space design, eLearning, professional development, and STEM. Prior to joining St Johns, Sharon was a senior project officer at the Department of Education, Education Queensland. Her experience and expertise include the International Baccalaureate DP, MYP and PYP; the North American Advanced Placement (AP); the IGCSE; and the Australian Curriculum. Sharon has been an examiner and moderator for the International Baccalaureate Organisation. She has worked in numerous leadership roles in Tertiary institutions; Secondary, Middle, Primary and P-12 schools. Sharon is a Queensland Justice of Peace (Qualified).

  • Vacant

    Technical Committee 8: Information Systems

    Do you want to help shape the face of ICT in Australia? Do you want to extend your profesisonal network whilst also building your personal brand? As the professional association for Australia’s information and communications technology (ICT) sector, ACS is passionate about the ICT profession being recognised as a driver of innovation and business and is currently seeking expressions for interest for this role. Are you passionate about the ICT profession? Are you a national or international leader in your field? If so, ACS would be delighted to hear from you. Please send through your expression of interest together with your updated resume to [email protected]

  • Professor Oliver Burmeister

    Technical Committee 9: ICT & Society

    Oliver Burmeister is a professor in information technology at Charles Sturt University (CSU). His research is focused on ethics and on the social impact of technology. One way he achieves this is through his contributions to the field of value sensitive design, a design approach which puts ethics into practice. Another way is through his efforts to improve professional practice. Until Oct 2020 he is a Senior Research Fellow, co-leading the CSU “Flourishing Communities” research sphere; one of the three research spheres in the CSU strategic plan. 30% of the fellowship is for leadership in that sphere, and the other 70% is devoted to pursuing his research.

  • Associate Professor Paul Haskell-Dowland

    Technical Committee 11: Security and Privacy Protection in Information Processing Systems
    MACS Snr

    Associate Professor Paul Haskell-Dowland is the Associate Dean for Computing and Security in the School of Science at Edith Cowan University, Perth, Australia and is an associate member of the Centre for Security, Communications & Network Research within the School of Computing, Electronics and Mathematics at Plymouth University in the United Kingdom. Paul has delivered keynotes, invited presentations, workshops and seminars across the world for audiences including Sri Lanka CERT, ITU and IEEE. He has more than 20 years of experience in cyber security research and education in both the UK and Australia. Paul is the Working Group Coordinator and the ACS/Australian Country Member Representative to the International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP) Technical Committee 11 (TC11 - Security and Privacy Protection in Information Processing Systems), the secretary to IFIP Working Group 11.1 (Information Security Management), the ACS representative to Standards Australia for Risk Management (OB 007) and a member of the ACS Cyber Security Committee, a Fellow of the Higher Education Authority, a Senior Member of the IEEE, a Fellow of the BCS and a Senior Member of the ACS/Certified Professional. He is the author of over 70 papers in refereed international journals and conference proceedings and edited 29 proceedings.

  • Dr Marcus Belder

    Technical Committee 11: Security and Privacy Protection in Information Processing Systems
    MACS Snr

  • Professor Simeon Simoff

    Technical Committee 12: Artificial Intelligence
    MACS Snr

    He has held academic positions at the University of Sydney, University of Bolzano-Bozen and Ecole Polytechnique de l'Université de Nantes. He is known for his transdisciplinary research, which links data science, human-machine interaction, design computing and intelligent virtual reality. His current research and development interests are in visual analytics, insights and discoveries, cognitive algorithms, and believability in AI.

  • Professor Henry Duh

    Technical Committee 13: Human-Computer Interaction

    Prof Duh is the Head of Dept of CS and IT in La Trobe Univ. He received his PhD from Univ of Washington and did his postdoctoral training in the NASA-JSC involved in a VR project. He is also a visiting professor in the Academy of Arts & Design, Tsinghua Univ, China, adjunct professor in the Graduate School of Journalism, National Taiwan University, Taiwan and adjunct professor in the School of Computer Science, Vellore Institute of Technology, India. Before joining La Trobe, he was a faculty member in Nanyang Technological Univ, National University of Singapore and UTAS. Prof Duh is an ACM Distinguished Speaker, Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, Fellow of the British Computer Society, Senior Member of both ACM and IEEE; Co-chair of Technical Committee on Visual Analytics and Communication of IEEE SCM Society, the Australian national representative of the IFIP TC on Human-Computer Interaction; Steering committee member of IEEE ISMAR and Asia Pacific Mixed Reality conference. He has been named as one of the Asian HCI Heroes in ACM CHI2015. He is the Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Visual Languages and Computing (Elsevier) , editorial board member of HCI book series(Springer), and published more than 150 conference and journal papers in HCI area. His current research focuses on user experience and interaction design, HCI and augmented/virtual reality.

  • Professor Artur Lugmary

    Technical Committee 14: Entertainment Computing

    Artur Lugmayr is an Associate Professor at Curtin University, Australia, in the area of data visualisation technologies, interactive media, media technology, human-computer-interaction, and media business/information management. Artur was a Professor for digital media business at the Tampere University of Technology (TUT), Finland, from 2009–2014, and established the Entertainment and Media Management Lab (digital media business) and the New Ambient Multimedia Lab (ubiquitous computation and smart media), which ran from 2004–2009. Artur holds a Dr.-Techn. degree (Information Technology, TUT), and is pursuing his Dr.-Arts studies in motion pictures at Aalto University, Finland. He was a visiting scientist in Singapore, Brisbane, Austria, and Ghana, and has raised or been involved in 1.7+ MEUR funding (excluding 2014/2015 applications), 170+ publications, 24+ invited keynotes, and 27+ invited guest lectures since 2000. Read more about Artur at


For the latest IFIP newsletters and bulletins, visit