Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.
  • icon-facebook
  • icon-linkedin
  • icon-twitter


The Australian Computer Society is governed by a national Management Committee.  This committee is assisted by a National Congress, eight State and Territory Branch Executive Committees, and three expert advisory boards - the Member Advisory Board, the Profession Advisory Board, and the Technical Advisory Board.

All three Boards provide strategy advice within their areas of expertise to Management Committee via their Vice Presidents.

One of the key strengths of the ACS is the collective knowledge and skills of its members, and the expert advisory boards are the framework for optimising this expertise.

The ACS Management Committee controls and manages the Society, within the bounds set by the Associations Incorporations Act (ACT) and the Society’s Objects, Rules and National Regulations.

The Management Committee consists of the National Office Bearers (President, three Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, National Treasurer) as well as the Chief Executive Officer and four National Congressional Representatives.               

blockchain Committee


  • Mr Samuel Brooks


    Samuel Brooks is Chief Technology Officer at Block8, a leading distributed systems engineering company based in Sydney, Australia. After completing his degree in Electrical Engineering at UNSW, Sam worked as an engineer, analyst and project manager within energy and financial services. He has a key interest in the power of distributed software systems to create new value for the world, and sometimes writes about blockchains on his blog at

  • Mr Mohammed Khaiata

    Vice Chair

    Mohammed is a digital transformation expert who successfully led and delivered complex large digital transformation programs, devised and executed IT strategy to have a higher level of alignment with business, streamlined business operations and functions by reengineering business processes and implementing integrated business systems. Mohammed is a TEDx speaker and a Board Member of several renowned organisations like the Australia and New Zealand Academy of Management ANZAM and the Centre for Islamic Economics Australia CIEA. Mohammed is certified in Project Management (PMP), Information Systems Audit (CISA), Information Technology Management (ITIL), Building Internet Applications (OCP) and cloud technologies. He holds a Masters degree in Information Technology Management, a Post-Graduate Diploma in Artificial Intelligence and a Bachelor degree in Computer Engineering. Mohammed is due to complete his PhD in emerging technologies from the University of Western Australia by the end of 2021.

  • Mr Ambarish Natu


    After graduating from UNSW, Ambarish has held positions as a visiting researcher in Italy and Taiwan, worked for industry in United Kingdom and the United States of America and for the past nine years has been working in the Australian Public Service.For the past 17 years Ambarish has led the development of five international standards under the auspices of the International Standards Organization (ISO) popularly known as JPEG (Joint Photographic Experts Group). He is the recipient of the ISO/IECcertificate for contributions to technology standards. Ambarish is highly active in the area of international standardization and voicing Australian concerns in the area of JPEG and MPEG (Motion Pictures Experts Group) standardization. Recently, he initiated an effort in the area of standardization relating to Privacy and Security in the Multimedia Context both within JPEG and MPEG standard bodies.In 2015, Ambarish was the recipient of the prestigious Neville Thiele Award and the Canberra Professional Engineer of the Year by Engineers Australia. Ambarish currently works as an IT Architect within the Australian Taxation Office. Ambarish currently also serves as a committee member on the ITEE College Board, the ITEE Canberra Branch committee of Engineers Australia and is also served as Vice-Chair and Treasurer for the IEEE Canberra Section.

  • Ms Christy Jie Liang


  • Prof James Clark


  • Mr Stefano Tempesta


  • Mr Tom Worthington


    Tom Worthington is an independent computer professional, award winning educational designer and an Honorary Senior Lecturer in the Research School of Computer Science at the Australian National University. He previously worked on IT policy forthe Australian Department of Defence and HQ Australian Defence Force. In 1999 Tom was elected a Fellow of the Australian Computer Society for his contribution to the development of public Internet policy. He is a Past President, Honorary Life Member, Certified Professional and a Certified Computer Professional of the ACS as well as a voting member of the Association for Computing Machinery and a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.