Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.
  • icon-facebook
  • icon-linkedin
  • icon-twitter


ACS is the recognised accrediting body for the ICT sector, assuring the continued high quality of education for the ICT profession in Australia.


ACS accreditation is awarded to an institution and its programs after a rigorous evaluation of their capacity to produce graduates who have the knowledge and skills required of an ICT professional. ACS promotes quality in ICT-related higher education to meet future industry needs. ACS sets graduate standards, drives improvements and refinements, and gives recognition to quality programs. ACS also ensures that new specialist courses build key skills for critical emerging fields.

ACS Accreditation Overview

These qualifications are recognised in Australia by employers and for ACS certification and skills assessment for migration purposes. These qualifications are recognised internationally by signatories of the Seoul Accord


ACS offers a Specialist Accreditation in Cyber Security to meet the changing needs of industry and to recognise courses that prepare graduates for specialist roles in this emerging field. This stimulates educational quality and helps underpin Australia’s future capacity to manage this critical area of public and corporate risk.

ACS Specialist Accreditation in Cyber Security

Support is available to higher education providers that are designing new ICT programs or preparing for accreditation

ACS Accreditation Support Services


The ACS has been closely monitoring the COVID situation and appreciates that in this unprecedented and difficult time, the Higher Education sector has had to adapt to manage the impact of the pandemic.

A Joint Statement of Principles for Higher Education Sector to address Covid has been prepared by the Australian Council of Professions (ACoP), Universities Australia (UA), the Independent Tertiary Education Council Australia (ITECA), the Australian Collaborative Education Network (ACEN) and the Independent Higher Education Australia (IHEA). The ACS will use this as a point of reference in considering accreditation actions and requests during this period. 

The ACS prepares an annual accreditation update including guidance for preparing an accreditation application in the following year. 

ACS Accreditation Update - September 2021


The ACS Professional Standards Platform provides a coherent foundation for a number of ACS standards-based schemes, including Accreditation.



 Key Accreditation Documents Are: 


The Accreditation scheme is designed around the Australian Qualification Framework (AQF), the Higher Education Standards Framework (HESF), the international Seoul Accord, national and international Skills Framework and a range of ICT Disciplinary Bodies of Knowledge. The accreditation scheme is aligned with international standards for accrediting bodies, the International Professional Practice Partnership (IFIP IP3) and Professions Australia.

The Accreditation Manual defines accreditation criteria and processes: 

For further information, current fees,questions or feedback, please contact the ACS at: 

[email protected]au