Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.


The Australian Computer Society is governed by a national Management Committee.  This committee is assisted by a National Congress, eight State and Territory Branch Executive Committees, and three expert advisory boards - the Member Advisory Board, the Profession Advisory Board, and the Technical Advisory Board.

All three Boards provide strategy advice within their areas of expertise to Management Committee via their Vice Presidents.

One of the key strengths of the ACS is the collective knowledge and skills of its members, and the expert advisory boards are the framework for optimising this expertise.

The ACS Management Committee controls and manages the Society, within the bounds set by the Associations Incorporations Act (ACT) and the Society’s Objects, Rules and National Regulations.

The Management Committee consists of the National Office Bearers (President, three Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, National Treasurer) as well as the Chief Executive Officer and four National Congressional Representatives.               

Internet of Things (iot) committee

  • Ms Narelle Clark


    Narelle Clark has over 20 years’ experience in network engineering and management positions in telecommunications companies and universities, as well as consulting with state and federal governments, overseas telecommunications providers and not-for-profit organisations. With a passion for research, Ms Clark also led the networking technologies team at CSIRO and managed Optus' research program and now applies this passion to her stewardship of the ACCAN grants scheme. She recently completed a six year term on the global Internet Society Board of Trustees where she was its representative on the IANA stewardship transition. Ms Clark has been active in standards development through the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and now sits on the IEEE Software Defined Networking Initiative steering committee and the Internet of Things Alliance Australia Executive Council. Ms Clark has a bachelor’s degree in applied physics, a masters in engineering (telecommunications and information systems) and a postgraduate diploma in management.

  • Mr Alastair Pearson


    Alastair Pearson is the lead Partner for PwC Consulting's Insight Analytics team, part of the Data & Analytics practice in Australia. Alastair is an analytics expert, working extensively with our broader Consulting capability to deliver data backed, insight led solutions for our clients' complex problems.Alastair provides strategic direction and operational leadership to a team of ~100 analytics experts based across Australia in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Canberra. Alastair has a strong focus on building trusted client relationships and creating innovative, analytical solutions to provide insight and value to clients making critical business decisions. Alastair has over 22 years' experience in consultancy and professional services working directly with a broad range of clients, with specific focus on the government sector. In addition, Alastair is the Co-Head of the NSW Chapter of the Institute of Analytical Professionals of Australia (IAPA), an association for education, networking and interaction of business analytics professionals. Alastair is also the ‘Grand Fromage' of The Cheese Authority, a boutique business selling amazing global artisan cheese in Australia. Alastair's specialties include: analytics, modelling, data visualisation and reporting, data governance and quality, development of tactical analytics solutions, model review, decision support, business development, leading teams, innovative thinking, cheese and wine.

  • Professor Arkady Zaslavsky


    Dr Zaslavsky is a Senior Principal Research Scientist with Data61, CSIRO. He is leading Data61 R&D projects in Internet of Things, mobile analytics andcontext-awareness science areas. He is a technical leader of the EU Horizon-2020 project bIoTope –building IoT Open Innovation Ecosystem for connected smart objects. Professor Arkady Zaslavsky holds Adjunct-Professorship appointments with a number of Australian and International universities. Arkady Zaslavsky has published more than 400 research publications throughout his professional career and supervised to completion more than 35 PhD students. Arkady Zaslavsky is a Senior Member of ACM, a Senior Member of IEEE Computer and Communication Societies.

  • Dr David Williams

    MACS Snr

    Dr David M Williams has over 25 years’ professional IT experience from Systems Analyst through Systems Administrator to Project Manager, Asia Pacific Troubleshooter, Project Manager, and for the last 10 years, CIO for national and international ASX-listed organisations. In business, David’s focus is on transforming organisations through technology and building high-performing teams. He is committed to developing the IT profession and has served as the ACS examiner in Programming, then Chief Examiner for the ACS Diploma in IT, as an ACS professional year mentor, the ACS Newcastle chapter convenor, and the co-founder of the Newcastle Coders’ Group, which has been running monthly since the November 2005. David is also a technology journalist with over 1,000 published articles including coverage of international conferences and events. He formerly lectured and tutored in Computer Science and Information Systems at the Universityof Newcastle.

  • Dr Phil Robertson


    Dr. Phil Robertson has deep experience in ICT research, development and commercialisation in global industry, research institutes and universities. He is currently lead for Strategic Partnerships at the ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science, and a Consultant to industry and government. His past positions include Chief Operating Officer for National ICT Australia (NICTA), Director of Canon’s Australia R&D Centre (CiSRA), and Program Leader in CSIRO. Phil is a member of the National Archives of Australia (NAA) Advisory Council, and has been on many government, industry, research and educational advisory boards and committees, including founding editorial boards of the IEEE TV&CG and the IEEE Visualisation Conference. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).