Skip to main content

Western Australia

The Western Australia Branch hosts events and offers resources, facilities and mentoring programs for ACS members. 

GENERAL CONTACT INFORMATION

Call Us/Fax Us

Tele :(08) 9470 4878

Fax : (08) 9470 4912

Mail

PO Box 301,

Victoria Park WA 6979

Office

Suite 4, 342 Albany Highway,

Victoria Park WA 6100

LOCAL RESOURCES

Branch Forums

ACS members in Western Australia are invited to monthly forums on a diverse range of topics, as well as recognised and accredited professional development sessions. For more information and to find out what's on this month, check the upcoming events page.

Mentoring

The ACS Mentoring Program will improve career development opportunities for members who are looking for career guidance in the ICT industry by matching them with leading industry veterans in a structured support program. Together, mentors and mentees set goals and work through a planned approach. After six months in the program, a mentee will be well placed to understand professional and leadership requirements typical in ICT today.

 

Meeting Room

The WA Branch has a meeting room suited to small gatherings and SIGs of up to 20 members. It is available free of charge to members and affiliated organisations, and is conveniently located in Victoria Park with ample free parking. Contact the office on (08) 9260 3701 or e-mail sarah.newland@acs.org.au to enquire about availability or to make a booking.

The ACS WA 1962 Prize

This prestigious prize is annually awarded to an individual Computing/Information Systems student in Western Australia. The prize awards recognition of student excellence in ICT and a $1,000.00 cash prize. To learn more and apply, please click HERE.

The ACS WA 1962 Prize

IBM1620

This prestigious prize is annually awarded to an individual Computing/Information Systems student in Western Australia. The prize celebrates the year in which the first digital computer was installed in Western Australia and is sponsored by Dennis Moore. 

Apart from recognition as the most able student in the field in Western Australia, the prize includes cash of $1,000.00.

Eligibility

WA university students who have completed undergraduate studies (including Honours) in a course with a substantial component of Computing/Information Technology (as represented by the ACS Core Body of Knowledge).

Mechanism

  • Universities to nominate final-year undergraduate students to apply
  • Students may apply directly
  • Selection will be based on an applicant’s student record, their achievements and potential
  • From the finalists, the overall 'winner' will be selected and the 1962 Prize will be presented at the Dennis Moore Distinguished Oration Dinner held in the second half of each year.

Submissions are now closed.

How to Apply:

Please email Alexandra Mollo at alexandra.mollo@acs.org.au with a 500 word brief outlining the applicant’s strengths, areas of interest, academic studies, past achievements, related work experience (if any), ambitions and desired career path. (Required)

Applicants must attach a copy of their academic transcript to the above and include full name, mobile number, university, course and email address.

BRANCH STAFF

Ms Sarah Newland AACS

WA State Manager

sarah.newland@acs.org.au

Ms Alexandra Mollo AACS

WA Events Coordinator

alexandra.mollo@acs.org.au

Branch Executives

Ms Michelle Sandford MACS (Snr) CP

Branch Chair

michelle.sandford@acs.org.au

Mr Tony Errington FACS CP

Immediate Past Chair

tony.errington@acs.org.au

Mrs Anle-Marne Pretorius AACS

Vice Chair

anle.pretorius@acs.org.au

Dr David Cook FACS CP

Honorary Secretary

david.cook@acs.org.au

Mr John Walczak MACS

Honorary Treasurer

john.walczak@acs.org.au

Mr George Coldham MACS CP

BEC Member

george.coldham@acs.org.au

Mr Matt Moncrieff AACS

BEC Member

matthew.mocrieff@acs.org.au

Mr Arnold Wong FACS CP

BEC Member

arnold.wong@acs.org.au

Dr Vivienne Conway MACS CP

BEC Member

vivienne.conway@acs.org.au

Mr Denis Coldham MACS CP

BEC Member

denis.coldham@acs.org.au

Ms Ming Johanson AACS

BEC Member

ming.johanson@acs.org.au

Mr Eric Torres AACS

BEC Member

eric.torres@acs.org.au

Mr Anthony Sciorilli AACS

BEC Member

anthony.sciorilli@acs.org.au

Dr Brian von Konsky FACS CP

BEC Member

brian.von-konsky@acs.org.au

Mr Vito Forte AACS

BEC Member

vito.forte@acs.org.au