Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

We have implemented new login procedure. Learn More

  • icon-facebook
  • icon-linkedin
  • icon-twitter

ACS National Elections 2020/2021 - Election Results

The Management Committee consists of the National Office Bearers (President, three Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, National Treasurer) as well as the Chief Executive Officer and four National Congressional Representatives. Each Branch with greater than 25% of members, entitled to vote at general meetings of the Society, calculated at the end of the month preceding the election, is entitled to a National Congressional Representative position. As at the 29 February 2020 the following Branches: New South Wales and Victoria had one position each.

The following members of the Society were elected until 31 December 2021 by the National Congress on Wednesday 11 March 2020:

Dr Ian Oppermann, FACS CP – President   

Ian has over 20 years’ experience in the ICT sector and, has led organizations with more than 300 people, delivering products and outcomes that have impacted hundreds of millions of people globally. He has held senior management roles in Europe and Australia as Director for Radio Access Performance at Nokia, Global Head of Sales Partnering (network software) at Nokia Siemens Networks, and then Divisional Chief and Flagship Director at CSIRO. Ian is considered a thought leader in the area of the Digital Economy and is a regular speaker on “Big Data”, broadband enabled services and the impact of technology on society. He has contributed to 6 books and co-authored more than 120 papers which have been cited more than 3500 times. Ian has an MBA from the University of London and a Doctor of Philosophy in Mobile Telecommunications from Sydney University.

Dr Nick Tate, FACS CP - Vice President (Membership Boards)

Nick Tate is a Company Director, Adjunct Professor and Consultant and has considerable experience at the level of CIO in two London banks and at the University of Queensland (UQ). He is co-author of “A Director’s Guide to Governing Information Technology and Cybersecurity”, a book published by the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and has 20 years’ experience as a Company Director in 16 Australian and 2 US companies. He is Chair of the Council of ICT Associations (CICTA) and chaired the World Computer Congress in 2010. He was the National President of the Australian Computer Society (ACS) in 2012/2013. Nick is also an adjunct professor in IT and electrical engineering at (UQ) and has written and presented widely on cybersecurity, cloud computing and big data. He worked on the development of antimissile systems and real-time air traffic control systems before spending 20 years working for investment banks in both London and Australia. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in physics from the University of St Andrews in Scotland, a Master’s degree in computer science, and a PhD in Cybersecurity. He is both a Fellow and Honorary Life Member of the ACS.

Mr Andrew Crawford, MACS CP - National Congressional Representative (New South Wales)

Andrew has broad experience in all aspects of strategy, operations, process improvement, risk, compliance, accounting, IT and commercial management. Direct experience with Post graduate lecturing, professional training, strategic consulting, project management. Industry experience in health, emergency services, education, banking, wealth management, insurance, business improvement consulting and M&A. An experienced non-executive director and mentor supporting students, talent, Startups and the Not for Profit sector.

Ms Maria Markman, MACS CP - National Congressional Representative (Victoria)

Maria Markman is the Chair of the ACS in Victoria and a member of the national ACS Management Committee. In the industry Maria is a connector, known for bringing people, ideas and technology solutions together across the ICT sector. She has domain expertise across disruptive technology trends, as well as software implementations in various industries. Career highlights include working on large projects undertaken by ASX 300 corporations. Maria is a passionate advocate for increased representation of women in IT, as well as broadening the general diversity of professionals working in technology.

Mr Michael Driver, FACS CP- National Congressional Representative (Queensland)

Currently the Director, Frontline Communication & Response for the Public Safety Business Agency providing ICT (and other corporate) services to the front-line operations of Queensland Police, Queensland Fire and Emergency Services and providing IT services to Queensland Ambulance Services. Mike is a fellow of the ACS, is the Chair of the Business Assurance Committee. Mike has also been a member of the Queensland Branch of ACS for over 6 years in roles of Vice Chair, Honorary Secretary and general committee member.

Mr George Coldham, MACS CP- National Congressional Representative (Western Australia)

George is a passionate advocate for the ICT Profession. Dedicated to the ACS he has volunteered since 2012 and is currently Vice Chair of the WA Branch Executive Committee.  Employed as a Consultant in Microsoft Technologies for a Multi-National IT Services company he lives and breathes technology, and thrives on providing real value and service to all stakeholders, through all his professional activities.

The following members will remain on the ACS Management Committee and National Congress with terms in brackets:

  • Mr Yohan Ramasundara, FACS CP - Immediate Past President (until 31 December 2021)
  • Dr Craig Horne, MACS (Snr) CP - Vice President Community Boards (until 31 December 2020)
  • Mr Arnold Wong, FACS CP - National Treasurer (until 31 December 2020)
  • Mr Andrew Johnson, MACS Snr (CP) - Chief Executive Officer (Ex-officio)