Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

ACS WA awards it latest Honorary Members

Wednesday, 22 Jun 2016

The ACS is proud to announce the latest addition of distinguished Honorary Members to the ACS WA branch, Governor of Western Australia, Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC & 2015 WA Australian of the Year, Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE.

Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC has had a distinguished career in government and business and was named a Companion of the Order of Australia in the 2016 Queen’s Birthday Honours for eminent service to the people of Western Australia, to the promotion of international investment, scientific research and export opportunities, and through roles with maritime, mining, emergency management and not-for-profit organisations.

Mrs Sanderson received a number of other awards during her time at Fremantle Ports including the Telstra Businesswoman of the Year for Western Australia in 1996, the Centenary Medal in 2001 for service to the maritime industry,  being the inaugural inductee in the national Lloyds List Shipping and Transport Hall of Fame in 2005, being inducted into the Business Hall of Fame in the Fremantle First Business Awards in 2002 and receiving an Export Hero award from the Australian Institute of Export in 2008.   She has also served as an Ambassador for the Western Australian Industry and Export Awards. (source: )

On the other hand, Throughout her 30-year career, Professor Lyn Beazley has been at the forefront of research in brain damage recovery and changing clinical practice in the treatment of infants at risk from pre-term delivery. Demonstrating passion early in her career at 26, Lyn Beazley set up her own lab and applied for funds from the Science Research Council to pursue independent neuroscience research.

Her contribution and commitment have been recognised by many from appointment as Chief Scientist of Western Australia in 2006 to Officer of the Order of Australia in 2009 and 2015 WA’s Australian of the Year with many additional accolades.

In 2012, Lyn became the 2nd recipient of the Governor’s Award for Giving, in recognition of her philanthropy work promoting STEM in the WA community. (Source: )

Honorary membership of the Australian Computer Society is awarded to members of the ICT profession who have made an outstanding contribution to the industry throughout the years.