Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

We have implemented new login procedure. Learn More

  • icon-facebook
  • icon-linkedin
  • icon-twitter

Statement from the ACS President

It is with great sadness that I must inform you of the passing of our South Australian Branch Chair, former ACS President, champion of Australia’s ICT sector and close friend, Brenda Aynsley.

Brenda worked tirelessly for the promotion of the ICT profession throughout her entire professional life. She is well known as the founder of Australia’s first internet café and has been a strong voice advocating for workable and sensible policy settings around the growth of the online world.

She has been involved for many years with the Electronic Frontiers Association, the South Australian Internet Association and the IT Council for South Australia. In recognition of her contribution to the ACS she holds the member grade of Fellow and was in 2016 awarded an Honorary Life Membership.  

Brenda was always a trailblazer, fighting for the improvement of the lot of women in ICT. In 2014/15 she served as the first female ACS President, driving a diligent and laser-like focus on the growth of professionalism within the sector. It was under her Presidency that the Reimagination Thought Leader’s Summit was born. Following her term as President she continued to serve her profession, most recently as South Australian Branch Chair.

I have always enjoyed working with Brenda and will forever be in awe of her unwavering commitment to developing a better profession for every person. She is completely irreplaceable and will be sorely missed.

The thoughts of all our members and staff are with Brenda’s wife Sharon and their family at this difficult time.

In lieu of flowers, donations are encouraged to the St Andrews Hospital Foundation South Australia or the Animal Welfare League of South Australia.