Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.
  • icon-facebook
  • icon-linkedin
  • icon-twitter

Tech talent celebrated at Digital Disruptors Awards

Australia’s leading technologists recognised at ACS prize night

5 December 2019

ACS – the professional association for Australia’s ICT sector – last night revealed the winners of the prestigious annual Digital Disruptor Awards held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Now in its fifth year, the ACS Digital Disruptors Awards recognise the achievements and talent of individual ICT professionals and group ICT skills and service transformations across a range of key award categories.

This year 52 finalists were nominated with 13 winners across the categories which recognised individuals, corporates, not-for-profits and startups for their contribution to Australia’s ICT sector.

ACS President Yohan Ramasundara said: “It is with great pride that ACS presented the Digital Disruptors Awards again in 2019.”

“The high quality of submissions received this year prove Australia is a global tech hotspot and the finalists showed how local business are among the best in the world when it comes to using innovation to lead us into the future.

“All of the finalists were impressive and I’d like to congratulate everyone who took part in this year’s awards.”

The ACS Digital Disruptor Awards followed the 2019 Reimagination Thought Leaders’ Summit and was the final step of an intensive nine-month national awards process judged by a panel of 36 industry luminaries led by IBM’s Steve Godbee.

Among the judging panel were NSW Government’s Chief Data Scientist, Dr Ian Oppermann; iiNet founder, Michael Malone; and Global CIO of Cardno, Elena Schamp.

The Digital Disruptors Awards ceremony attracted delegates from business, government, education and research spheres, joining the festivities to celebrate the achievements and contributions of these individuals and teams.

ACS congratulates all the Gold Disruptors and Category Winners, and thanks the supporting Digital Disruptors partners: the Victorian government, AGL, GHD Digital, Vertiv, KineticIT, StartupAus and AMD.

The winners in each category are:

ICT Student of the Year:

  • Marina Geldard (Uni of Tasmania)


ICT Educator of the Year:

  • Yenni Tim (UNSW)


Young ICT Professional of the year (Male):

  • Jeremiah Mannings (Cap Gemini)


Young ICT Professional of the year (Female):

  • Monique Alvis (Cap Gemini)


Skills Transformation (small teams):

  • One Path Life UTS


Skills Transformation (medium teams):

  • DXC Dandelion


Skills Transformation (large teams):

  • Edith Cowan University


Service Transformation Digital Consumer – Not for Profit:

  • Alannah & Madeline Foundation


Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer – Government:

  • University of Western Australia


Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer – Corporate:

  • Myriota


Best New Tech Platform:

  • Sentient Hubs


CXO Disruptor of the Year:

  • Vinay Samuel


ICT Professional of the Year:

  • Sheryl Frame






Further information

Troy Steer

Director of Corporate Affairs and Public Policy

M – 0417 173 740

E – [email protected]

About ACS

ACS is the professional association for Australia's technology sector. More than 45,000 ACS members work in business, education, government and the community. ACS exists to create the environment and provide the opportunities for members and partners to succeed.

The Society strives for technology professionals to be recognised as drivers of innovation in our society, relevant across all sectors, along with promoting the formulation of effective policies on technology and related matters. Visit for more information.