Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.


Finalists announced for 2016 Digital Disruptor Awards

Media Release - Finalists announced for 2016 Digital Disruptor Awards

Qantas, ATO, NAB lead field of finalists for

2016 ACS Digital Disruptor Awards


Sydney, September 30, 2016: The ACS – the professional association for Australia’s ICT sector – has announced the finalists for the 2016 Digital Disruptor Awards to be held at The Star Events Centre on December 1, 2016.

Following on from the success of the inaugural Awards held last year there was a 50% increase in the number of nominations across the 12 categories of team and individual awards.

Demonstrating the commitment of Australian businesses to embracing digital disruption the Project and Team finalists include leading organisations such as Qantas, the ATO, NAB, Seek, Australia Post and PwC. Both Qantas and the ATO are both returning to the awards having tasted success in 2015.

Some of Australia’s leading individual disruptors will also be recognised in the Professional Categories which include Student, Educator and Researcher of the year highlighting the strength of the academic sector, along with the Young IT Professional (Male & Female) and IT Professional of the Year categories attracting strong interest.

With the digital economy tipped to grow to $79Bn by 2020 disruption is a key component in ensuring the continued growth of the Australian economy. The finalists listed below will no doubt play a key role in helping develop Australia as a leading digital and knowledge economy in years to come.

The finalists in each category are;

Skills Transformation of work teams (small teams under 20)

  • Medical Director

Skills Transformation of work teams (medium teams 21-200)

  • ASG Group
  • Seek
  • The District Nurses Tasmania

Skills Transformation of work teams (large teams 200+)

  • Australian Public Service
  • NAB

Service Transformation for the digital consumer – Not for Profit

  • Business SA
  • Artis Group
  • NSW Rugby League Referees Association
  • Touchline Connect Pty Ltd

Service Transformation for the digital consumer – Government

  • ATO
  • Australia Post & WA Police
  • NEC & NT Police
  • NSW Electoral Commission

Service Transformation for the digital consumer – Corporate

  • Biteable
  • Myfreight
  • PwC
  • Sound Scouts

ICT Student of the Year

  • Axel Vekemans (Curtin University)
  • Cameron Attard (Western Sydney University)
  • Alexander Zable (University of Melbourne)
  • Shane Hercules (University of Melbourne)

ICT Researcher of the Year

  • Athul Ginige (Western Sydney University)
  • Geoff Webb (Monash University)
  • Mustafa Atee (Curtin University)

ICT Educator of the Year

  • Dr Richard Dazeley (Federation University)
  • Gail Bourne (Monash University)
  • Gu Fang (Western Sydney University)
  • Tele Tan (Curtin University)

Young ICT Professional of the Year (Male under 30)

  • Andrew Kugelman (Public Safety Business Agency)
  • David Budden (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Jordan Duffy (Buckham Duffy)

Young ICT Professional of the Year (Female under 30)

  • Ally Watson (Code Like A Girl)
  • Anastasiya Smirnova (Avanade)
  • Cynthia Lee (Deloitte Consulting Pty Ltd)
  • Danya Azzopardi (Deloitte Digital)

ICT Professional of the Year

  • Dr Kate Raynes-Goldie (Games We Play/FTI)
  • Eamon Barker (Avanade)
  • Paris Buttfield-Addison (Secretlab)
  • Sam Johnston (Computer Sciences Corporation)

Further information about each finalist will be available as a video presentation after December 1st. To learn more about the 2016 Digital Disruptor Awards or to book tickets visit


Further information

Thomas Shanahan, ACS, 0449 902 130


About the ACS

The ACS is the professional association for Australia's Information and Communication Technology (ICT) sector. Over 20,000 ACS members work in business, education, government and the community. The ACS exists to create the environment and provide the opportunities for members and partners to succeed. The ACS strives for ICT professionals to be recognised as drivers of innovation in our society, relevant across all sectors, and to promote the formulation of effective policies on ICT and related matters. Visit for more information.