Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

The ACS Digital Disruptors Awards winners are...

Friday, 20 Nov 2015

Media Release Sydney – 18 November 2015 – The ACS, the professional association for Australia's ICT sector, is pleased to announce the winners of the ACS Digital Disruptor Awards held at The Star in Sydney as part of the REIMAGINATION: Thought Leadership Summit 2015.

Around 50 finalists from a total of 13 categories were selected for the national awards to honour the efforts of ICT professionals and organisations across industry, government and education and to recognise them as digital disruptors.

Each winner was selected from a wide range of entries by an independent judging panel comprising industry experts in technology, innovation, science, academia and business.

The winners were announced at the ACS Digital Disruptor Awards gala dinner on November 17.

The Australia Taxation Office impressed judges by being the first federal agency to deploy a mobile app on all three major app stores after undergoing a major internal cultural transformation. The taxation office’s mobile apps team designed, built and delivered the app in less than 10 weeks with close, cohesive engagements with key stakeholders, including business partners.

Outsourcing company Serco won its category after successfully developing self-service kiosks and self-learning tablets for prisoners who used key innovative techniques to upskill themselves.

“On behalf of the ACS, I’d like to congratulate all the winners and finalists who took part in the Digital Disruptors Awards,” said Andrew Johnson, CEO of ACS.

“Studies have shown that more than 50 per cent of businesses in Australia have been affected by some form of digital disruption so it’s heartening to see that the calibre of entries were second to none.

“We hope the award recognition will spur the teams and individuals to continue to contribute and make an impact on Australia’s technology and innovation scene,” Mr Johnson said.

ACS Digital Disruptors 2015 Winners

Team Categories

Skills Transformation of Work Team – Small Team (under 20):ATO
Skills Transformation of Work Team – Medium Team (under 200):  Woolworths
Skills Transformation of Work Team – Large Team (over 200):SERCO
Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer – Corporate:Blamey Saunders Hears
Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer – Government:  Australian Crime Commission
Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer – NGO or NFP:CSIRO

Individual Categories

ICT Consultant of the Year:Clinton House
ICT Higher Education Educator of the Year:Anton Bogdanovych
ICT Higher Education Student of the Year:Jacob Wilson
ICT Professional of the Year:Simon Chan
ICT Researcher of the Year:Gernot Heiser
Young ICT Professional of the Year – female:Emily Rich
Young ICT Professional of the Year – male:Yohan De Silva
Twitter: @ACSnewsfeed
Linkedin: ACS (Australian Computer Society)

Media Contacts:
Thomas Shanahan
Media & Communications
+61 449 902 130

Fran Foo
Media & Capital Partners
+61 416 302 719