Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

Nominations for the Victorian Branch Executive Committee 2015 Close 5:00pm Monday!

Friday, 03 Oct 2014

Nominations are hereby invited from all eligible ACS Victorian Branch Members for any of the following positions on the 2015 ACS Victorian Branch Executive Committee (BEC).

Chairman – 2 year term
Vice Chairman – 1 year term
Honorary Treasurer – 2 year term
Honorary Branch Secretary – 1 year term
Ordinary Committee Members (five positions) – 2 year term
Ordinary Committee Members (five positions) – 1 year term

The ACS Victorian BEC historically has had annual elections but moved to two-year terms 2012 - 2013. The benefit of moving to two-year terms was to enable continuance of expertise and experience rather than having to induct new members each year. Following the November 2014 election, half of the Office Bearer and elected Ordinary Committee members will be elected for a two-year period; the remaining members will be elected for a one-year term after which (in 2015) all positions will be subject to two-year appointments.

The five Ordinary Committee Members who receive the highest amount of votes will automatically be elected for a two-year term. The remaining five will be a one year term. The two year term commences 1 January 2015, ending 31 December 2016; the one year term commences 1 January 2015, ending 31 December 2015.

Only financial members of the ACS Victorian Branch are eligible for nomination. For a nomination to be valid it must show the name and address of an eligible nominee, be signed by the nominee as evidence of willingness to accept the nomination and be signed by another financial member of the Victorian Branch as proposer. Only members of the Professional Division are eligible for election as Branch Office Bearers. No more than one half of the Ordinary Committee Members may be from the non-Professional Division.  All grades of members are eligible to nominate candidates for any of the above positions.

Nominations must be on the approved BEC 2015 nomination form and reach the Returning Officer no later than 5:00pm, Monday 6 October, 2014. Nominations may be posted to: Returning Officer, Australian Computer Society, Locked Bag 36 South Melbourne Vic 3205, or delivered to: Australian Computer Society, Level 2, 120 Clarendon Street, Southbank 3006. They may also be faxed to (03) 9690 0201 or scanned and emailed to the attention of the Returning Officer at: The onus rests with the nominee or proposer concerned to ensure that his/her nomination is lodged before the closing date.

Please click here to download the 2015 BEC nomination form.

If there are more nominations than positions a ballot will be held to determine the successful nominees.  2014 Branch Executive Committee Members retire on the 31 December 2014 and are eligible for re-election.