Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

2014 National iAwards winners announced

Monday, 08 Sep 2014

On Friday 29 August, the best of the best in Australian ICT innovation were recognised at the 2014 National iAwards in Melbourne, Victoria.

The ABC’s James O’Loghlin was master of ceremonies with ACS President Brenda Aynsley OAM presenting an award on the evening.

Numerous speakers, including David Bartlett, former Premier of Tasmania, Leni Mayo, founding investor of 99designs and iAwards ICT Woman of the Year 2013, Yvette Adams, explored the importance of ICT and stressed the importance of innovation across all sectors of the Australian economy – including infrastructure, health, government services and mining.

This year saw the introduction of the Hills Young Innovator of the Year award – a new program directed at recognising Australians under the age of 25. The 15 finalists pitched their ideas to a panel of judges, ICT professionals and leading technology companies at a ‘Pitch Fest’ as part of the iAwards MasterClass session on Friday.
Elliot Smith, an electrical engineering graduate from the University of Queensland, was awarded the Hills Young Innovator of the Year iAward for Pepster – a breathing device and smartphone and tablet apps to monitor respiratory physiotherapy in patients suffering breathing and lung conditions – and will receive $15,000 to bring the app and device to market.

Winners of the 2014 National iAwards:


  • Research & Development: HeatWave, CSIRO
  • New Product: CORONA (COrporate ROaming Network Access), Norwood Systems Pty Ltd
  • Tools: LeaseEagle, LeaseEagle


  • Industrial: The OFS Software Suit, Operations Feedback Pty Ltd
  • Financial: The Novatti Payments System (NPS), Novatti Pty Ltd
  • Resources: Rio Tinto Wireless 4G LTE Network, Rio Tinto


  • Pearcey Medal: Professor Mary O’Kane
  • Pearcey Hall of Fame: Dr Bob Frater and Peter Vogel
  • CSIRO Benson Entrepreneur Award: John de Margheriti, Academy of Interactive Entertainment
  • The Start-Up Award: Peak Response, GreenSync
  • Victorian Government Inspiration iAward: Peak Response, GreenSync


  • CIO of the Year: Professor Richard Constantine
  • ICT Professional of the Year: Johanna Westbrook
  • ICT Woman of the Year: Fi Slaven
  • ICT Educator of the Year: Trina Myers


  • Consumer: CommBank App, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Education: The Virtual Dementia Experience, Alzheimer's Australia Vic & Opaque Multimedia
  • Government: QPS Lite information Technology Exchange - QLiTE, Queensland Police Service
  • Health: The intelligent Cardiovascular Information System (iCVIS), Fujifilm Australia Pty Ltd


  • Community: Guardian Control Centre, Qit+ Pty Ltd
  • Regional: FireWatch Pro and MyFireWatch, Landgate & Edith Cowan University
  • Sustainability: Veefil Electric Vehicle Fast Charger, Tritium Pty Ltd


  • Secondary: ICTinME, Brynlea Gibson - St Aidan's Anglican Girls' School
  • Undergraduate Tertiary: Loafly, Brad Lorge, Chris Manouvrier, Aaron Darling and Vivian Li
  • Postgraduate Tertiary: REView, Stuart Speidel - University of Western Australia

Hills YIA:

  • Cloud Category: OrionVM, Alex Sharp
  • Mobile: Pepster, Elliot Smith
  • Data: GoCatalyse, Chris Eigeland
  • Young Innovator of the Year: Pepster, Elliot Smith