Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

MEDIA ALERT - Brenda Aynsley elected ACS president 2014-2016

Friday, 22 Nov 2013

Sydney, November 21 2013: The Australian Computer Society's Brenda Aynsley has today been elected to the ACS Presidency. Ms Aynsley will commence her 2 year term on January 1, 2014.

ACS President Dr Nick Tate paid tribute to his successor. “Brenda is an exceptional member of the ACS who has dedicated much of her time to the advancement of the ICT profession in South Australia and across the nation. She will be an inspiring leader for the organisation as it continues to grow in membership and relevance."

Dr Tate also reflected on his time as President which will conclude on January 1 2014. “It has been a singular honour to lead the Society. We are a great organisation made so by the strength and talent of our members, volunteers and staff. I want to thank all of those who have supported me in my role.”

Ms Aynsley made a short statement after the result was announced.

"I am honoured to lead the ACS at this critical time in the evolution of the digital economy particularly in Australia, where the need for professionalism in ICT is more pressing than ever. As President-Elect I would like to acknowledge the work of the current President, Dr Nick Tate, and the ACS management committee, congress, boards and branches."

The election was held at the meeting of the ACS Congress in Sydney earlier this morning. The following candidates were also elected to senior positions;

PositionIncumbentSuccessor from 1/1/2014
PresidentDr Nick TateMs Brenda Aynsley
Immediate Past PresidentMr Anthony WongDr Nick Tate
TreasurerMr Yohan RamasundaraMr Yohan Ramasundara
VP MembershipProf Doug GrantMr Anthony Wong
VP CommunityMs Rathika SureshMs Rathika Suresh
VP AcademicProf Paul BailesProf Paul Bailes
National Congressional RepDr Peter PalmerMs Jo Dalvean
National Congressional RepMr Michael DriverDr Vladas Leonas
National Congressional RepMr Ian WellsMr Michael Hawkins
National Congressional RepMr Arnold WongMr Arnold Wong

The new management committee of the ACS will take effect on January 1 2014.


Further information

Thomas Shanahan, Australian Computer Society, 0449 902 130


About the Australian Computer Society

The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the professional association for Australia's Information and Communication Technology (ICT) sector. Over 20,000 ACS members work in business, education, government and the community. The Society exists to create the environment and provide the opportunities for members and partners to succeed. The ACS strives for ICT professionals to be recognised as drivers of innovation in our society, relevant across all sectors, and to promote the formulation of effective policies on ICT and related matters. Visit for more information.