Skip to main content

iAwards 2013 - Another Successful Year

Friday, 16 Aug 2013

On the 8th of August, ACS, AIIA, and the Pearcey Foundation hosted the National iAwards 2013.

The years programme had; 

  • $750,000 budget,
  • Over 1000 participants,
  • Over 700 for the dinner,
  • Successful state events ( especially in those States where ACS branches took the lead role),
  • A significant number of ACS members among the successful award winners, and
  • Many ACS members involved in the Australia3.0 forum and Yammer, and the judging process.

As one of the two ACS members of the iAwards Steering Committee, I am also happy to advise ACS members that, whilst many ACS members and staff contribute to the success of the iAwards programme, that the programme is now self-funding from sponsorships and other revenues, so imposes no additional financial cost to the ACS.

At the event it was also announced that the Government of Victoria has signed a 5 year agreement with the host organisations to provide lead sponsorship to iAwards, and I can therefore confirm to members that, accordingly, the national event will continue to be held in Victoria for the next 5 years.

Ian Dennis
Chairman, Australian Computer Society, Victoria

iAwards Gala
From left to right: Senator, the Hon Kate Lundy, Minister Assisting for Innovation and Industry, Minister Assisting for the Digital Economy; Rod Dilnutt FACS, ICT Professional of the Year; Ian Dennis, Chairman, ACS Victoria.