Skip to main content
Cookies Policy
Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website is provided in our Privacy Policy. By closing this message and proceeding, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies Policy.

2012 iAwards nominations now open to Australia’s leading technology innovators

Wednesday, 07 Mar 2012

Wednesday 7 March: 2012 iAwards nominations are now open to Australia’s leading technology innovators. Submissions are invited via

Now in its 18th year, the iAwards is Australia’s leading technology awards program recognising the most innovative companies and leading individuals across 25 categories. Working in collaboration the Australian Computer Society (ACS), Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA), and Pearcey Foundation deliver the iAwards to celebrate innovation through collaboration.

In 2012 iAwards seeks nominations across domains including: Society, Education, Industry and Consumer in the Company/Group Categories.

Individual Categories recognise the achievement of outstanding individuals including the CIO, ICT Professional, ICT Woman and ICT Educator of the Year. iAwards also celebrates Australia's entrepreneurial spirit with a number of pioneer awards including Start-up, Benson Entrepreneur, Pearcey Medal and Hall of Fame and Inspiration Award. Visit for full details.

"We are very excited about this year’s iAwards," said AIIA CEO and 2012 iAwards Chair Suzanne Campbell. "Increasingly the iAwards are being recognised outside the ICT sector not as a niche program for technology specialists, but as a measure of the vitality of Australian business, economy and community."

"Following the success of the program in 2011, we are very pleased to see the most outstanding individuals in ICT again recognised at the iAwards in 2012," said Alan Patterson CEO ACS.

Chair of the Pearcey Foundation, Wayne Fitzsimmons, said that the Pearcey Awards for Lifetime achievement in ICT could not be delivered at a more fitting event. "To honour our greatest technology leaders in front of the most successful emerging talent is a fantastic opportunity; Trevor Pearcey would no doubt be very impressed with the evolution of the Australian industry.

For companies/group, nominees in each category compete at the local level for State honours, with all winners and merit recipients going on to compete for the national awards. Individuals and Pioneers are each awarded at the national level.

The 2012 iAwards winners will be announced at a gala dinner and awards ceremony at Crown Palladium in Melbourne on 9 August 2012. The iAwards also provide a gateway to international competition, with group category national winners given the opportunity to represent Australia at the Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA) Awards, this year to be held in Brunei during December.

Past winners say that winning an iAward has had a measurable impact on their business and career, so we encourage you to consider what winning an iAward could do for you. Comprehensive web briefing sessions will be held in March to help potential nominees maximise their nomination and make the most out of the iAwards. For details please visit



Media Enquiries:
Nicole Campbell 0438 300 133

Nomination Enquiries:
iAwards Team 1300 665 145

About the iAwards

Over 18 years, the iAwards has become the premier technology awards in Australia delivering the most comprehensive awards program in the technology industry today. Since 2011 the iAwards are open to both the companies and leading professionals at the cutting edge of technology innovation. The iAwards are judged by industry, for industry and provide achievements with public recognition across industry, government, community and beyond. They are strongly focused on promoting essential relationships between the ICT industry and vertical business sectors to promote the value of our industry.

About the ACS

The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the recognised professional association for those working in Information and Communications Technology, seeking to raise the standing of ICT professionals and represent their views to government, industry and the community. A member of the Australian Council of Professions, the ACS is the guardian of professional ethics and standards in the ICT sector, committed to ensuring the beneficial use of ICT for all Australians. It provides both members and non-members with opportunities for professional education, networking and certification, as well as enabling them to contribute to the development of their profession.

About AIIA

The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) is the nation’s peak industry body for the technology sector. AIIA sets the strategic direction of the industry, influences public policy and provides members with productivity tools, advisory services and market intelligence to accelerate their business growth. AIIA member organisations account for approximately half of the 426,100 people employed in ICT occupations and almost $20 billion in annual revenue for Australia. Our members are made up of small, medium, national and multi-national companies whose experience is global as well as spanning all states and territories.

About the Pearcey Foundation

Founded in 1998 in memory of Dr Trevor Pearcey, who built Australia’s first and the world’s fourth programmable electronic digital computer, CSIRAC, in Sydney in 1949, the foundation is a group of concerned individuals fostering the aims and achievements of the Australian ICT industry. Celebrating its 62nd anniversary this year, CSIRAC is the oldest surviving computer in the world. The Pearcey Foundation’s objective is to reinforce the recognition, knowledge and appreciation of Australia’s ongoing contribution to the development and growth of our ICT professions, research and industry. For more information on the Pearcey Foundation please visit


The Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) is an international awards program that aims to increase ICT awareness in the community and assist in bridging the digital divide. By providing networking and product benchmarking opportunities to ICT innovators and entrepreneurs in the region, the program is designed to stimulate ICT innovation and creativity, promote economic and trade relations and facilitate technology transfer. Participants of the awards program comprise members of the APICTA Alliance guided by the Framework of Cooperation identifying how member-economies can work together in support of the Awards Program as well as other programs that foster development and growth of the ICT industry in the region. Australia has enjoyed great success at the APICTA Awards in recent years.