Skip to main content


At the top of the ACS structure is the ACS Management Committee which, within bounds set by the Associations Incorporations Act and the Society's Objects, Rules and National Regulations, controls and manages the Society. ACS Management Committee consists of the National Office Bearers (President, three Vice Presidents, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, National Treasurer), as well as the Chief Executive Officer and four National Congressional Representatives.


  • Mr Steve Godbee


    Mr Godbee is IBM’s CIO for Australia and New Zealand. His business career has spanned over 30 years, performing local, regional and global roles, while living in Australia and in the USA. Steve is passionate about engaging with leaders and users from across the business; to understand their dynamic and challenging business needs; to share his transformation and digital agendas; and to solicit feedback for growth and continuous improvement. He is committed to leading his team to utilize Agile and Design Thinking principles and practices to deliver capabilities that enable people to perform their work anytime, anywhere, and on any device.

  • Prof Michael Johnson


    Professor Johnson has been Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science at Macquarie University since 2002. He is also a Director of the Macquarie-DEC ICT Innovations Centre. In 1997 he was runner up for the inaugural Australian Award for University Teaching in all Science disciplines. Michael holds honours degrees in Mathematics and Psychology, a Graduate Diploma of Education, and a PhD in Pure Mathematics. He is a Fellow and a life member of the Australian Mathematical Society, and a Fellow and Certified Professional of the Australian Computer Society.

  • Mr Adrian Porteous


    Professor Porteous is a highly qualified and experienced IT professional, with a proven track record in senior leadership roles. These have focussed on software development and maintenance, ITIL based operations, strategy and architecture, marketing and client support, project management, negotiation and contract management across higher education, heath, government and technology sectors. Current leadership roles include Information Architect, VicRoads and Vice Chairman Victorian Branch, Australian Computer Society.

  • Prof Aileen Cater-Steel


    Dr Cater-Steel is a Professor of Information Systems at University of Southern Queensland (USQ). Her research interests include IT Service Management (ITSM), IT Standards and Governance, e-Learning systems, and IT outsourcing. She was Lead Chief Investigator on two ITSM projects funded by the Australian Research Council. Aileen has published in top journals and co-edited three research books, including one on women in engineering, science and technology. Her work has been recognised with a citation from the Australian Learning & Teaching Council for outstanding contribution to student learning. Prior to her academic appointment, Aileen held senior IT management roles in the private sector and government organisations.

  • Prof Chris Pilgrim


    Professor Pilgrim is the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education and Quality) and Chair of Academic Senate at Swinburne University of Technology. As Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education and Quality) Chris is responsible for strategic leadership across the education portfolio in relation to quality assurance and standards, course accreditation, and academic policy. Chris has an academic background in computer science and software engineering and a PhD in human-computer interaction. Chris has held a variety of education leadership positions at Swinburne including as a Faculty Deputy Dean and has contributed broadly to the national information technology discipline including a previous position on the executive of the Australian Council of Deans of ICT.

  • Mr Keith Besgrove


    Mr Besgrove is: Chairman of the National Standing Committee on Cloud Computing, a public/private initiative of Global Access Partners; a Research Associate at the University of Technology in Sydney; and, Principal of Guthega River consulting. Until July 2014 he was head of the Digital Economy Services Division in the Federal Department of Communications.

  • Assc Prof Oliver Burmeister


    Dr Burmeister is an Associate Professor, School of Computing and Mathematics at Charles Sturt University. Oliver’s research is focused on ethical design in health informatics, particularly in areas of mental health. He is a member of the international value sensitive design (VSD) community, led by Professor Batya Friedman and Associate Professor David Hendry at the University of Washington. Increasingly his VSD contributions have moved from the design of technologies for older people to the design of assistive technologies for people with dementia.